Logo of Department of Cooperation, Government of Meghalaya

Shri. Conrad Kongkal Sangma

Chief Minister of Meghalaya

Shri. K. N. Kumar, IAS
Additional Chief Secretary
Cooperation Department


Shri. Arunkumar Kembhavi, IAS
Registrar of Cooperative Societies


Functions and Duties

The department functions in accordance with the Rules of Executive business of the State of Meghalaya, framed under Clause 2 and 3 of Article 166 of the Constitution of India. The Administrative roles, powers and functions are also guided by the Meghalaya Secretariat Manual of Office procedure, the General Handbook of circulars, the Fundamental Rules, Subsidiary Rules 1984, and other Rules and Regulations adapted/enacted from time to time in the Government and such subordinate Legislations as may be relevant to the functioning of the Department, including the Delegation of Financial Power Rules 1981.

The regulation and control of the cooperative societies are through the Acts and Rules. Registrar of Cooperative Societies is the friend, philosopher, regulator and guide acting under the overall policy and other directions of the state government. [more about functions and duties]

What's New